making sense of it

28 Jul

I could read the peom one hundred times but I would never understand it. I didn’t know about Jesus,or his life, death or ressurection. I didn’t know who he was or how he was connected to God.  But I knew they were connected somehow, yet the only time I ever heard the name Jesus Christ, it was when someone was yelling and they used it as a curse word.

There’s a pretty little legend
That I would like to tell
Of the birth and death of Jesus
Found in this lowly shell.

If you examine closely,
You’ll see that you find here
Four nail holes and a fifth one
Made by a Roman’s spear.

On one side the Easter lily,
Its center is the star
That appeared unto the shepherds
And led them from afar.

The Christmas poinsettia,
Etched on the other side
Reminds us of His birthday,
Our happy Christmastide.

Now break the center open,
And here you will release
The five white doves awaiting
To spread Good will and peace.

This simple little symbol,
Christ left for you and me
To help us spread His Gospel
Through all eternity.

And so with the blind faith of a child, I cupped that shell in my hands, shut my eyes, and felt the sun shine on my face. I sat on the dock dangling my legs above the water, and thought about how his birthday was on Christmas. That was all I knew, although we didn’t celebrate it, we had Santa Clause. I didn’t know a thing about nail holes, Roman spears, shepards, or what a Gospel was. But what I did know was that with this shell in my hands and the sun on my face, I felt connected. I wispered a quiet “thank you” and just sat there holding that shell.

One Response to “making sense of it”

  1. http://wearehispeople.wordpress.com July 28, 2012 at 1:59 am #

    Jesus Christ, our Savior and soon coming King of Kings and Lord of Lords! You may also like my blog at http://wearehispeople.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

